Wednesday, September 17, 2008

few and far between - three

The groundwork for Few and Far Between was laid back in 1997, when Brian Galindo, John Fitchett, and a revolving cast of musicians began jamming in Galindo's basement. Over the course of the next two years, the pair strived to give the band shape, bringing in a host of local talent to attempt the true formation of a rock band. Enter Joe Philips. When Joe first played with the band, everyone realized that they were onto something unique and special. When ex-King for a Day guitarist Darrin Hunt joined on bass, the foundation of Few and Far Between was complete. Once the group had realized their sound, through pooling their creative efforts, they decided to document their sound by heading to Ann Arbor, Michigan recording studio, 40oz Sound, to record two songs: "Waking up Tired" and "The Sea and the Century". Although the band initially had few aspirations of performing live, that was short-lived. So many people had heard (and loved) the band's recordings, that a live set was nearly demanded. When Few and Far Between's anticipated live show debuted at Detroit's IO, over 100 people turned out to see them play, based solely on word of mouth. The group played a few more sets at the IO in the months that followed, each time breaking the club's attendence record. After a handful of shows at the IO, the band hit the road for a short tour with Chamberlain (Doghouse), and recorded three more tracks for their debut CDEP, which was realeased by Eudora Records in March, 2000. Copies of the Few and Far Between EP went quickly, and by June, Eudora cashed in their chips, passing the torch to Elkion Records who reissued the disc, with different artwork, just in time for a two week tour with Remainder. Prior to this tour, the group parted ways with founding member John Fitchett, and recruited Derik Lee. Before the release of the band's "Tour EP" in late 2001, the band would complete tours with Errortype:11, The Stryder, and Christiansen. After three years, three attempts at recording their full legnth, and as their third release on Elkion Records, Few and Far Between released their debut full length "Three" on March 4, 2003 (though the copyright reads for 2002). In support of the release, the band completed numerous tours, creating a buzz both with their energetic, yet strinkingly intimate live show, and well received full length release. Few and Far Between hit the studio once again during the summer of 2004, recording tracks for a future release. Later that year, put out by a Michigan production company by the name of After the Show, Few and Far Between released the song "Winks and Nods" on the compilation, After the Show: Volume Two. In November 2004, Few and Far Between played a packed, final show at popular Detroit club, Alvin's, before going on a hiatus. At this show, singer/guitarist Joe Philips told the crowd that despite many rumors of it being the band's last show (for good), that wasn't necessarily the case, suggesting fans may be able to see Few and Far Between at some point down the road. In the meantime however, the guys who make the band are pursuing other interests, and their parted ways appear to be on good terms. Present day, Joe Philips is pursuing a solo project, and has relocated to New York. He has released an EP titled "Wonderland," on which he wrote, performed, recorded and mixed all instruments and vocals.

year: 2003
from: detroit, michigan

few and far between - three

1. Intro
2. Maybe For Now
3. Insomnia
4. Edison
5. Instrumental
6. Stop Trying
7. Maginot Line
8. Talking Backwards
9. Waking Up Tired
10. Blend
11. Pompeii
12. In Loving Memory



Kimberley said...

pls re-up somewhere else links are down

Maddie said...

Hi, Nice post thanks for sharing. Would you please consider adding a link to my website on your page. Please email me back.